My Mixtapes

Saturday, February 13, 2010

Filet-o-Mix 06 / The Monti Mash 01 - "Coming Of Age"

Download "Coming Of Age" HERE

Note: This exclusive Filet-o-Mix, write-up, and cover art were created by my friend John-Carlo Monti. If you would like to submit your own Filet-o-Mix, hit me up at HeadPhoneHome(at)
Mix the phrase coming-of-age with hip-hop and the visual most people will get will be something straight out of Don't Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood. However, one can grow up on hip-hop never having to hold a gun, deal with an accidental pregnancy, or ever having to cruise down the street in a '64. This Filet-O-Mix contains elements in the minds of those coming-of-age. Themes of first loves, friendship, self doubt, self acceptance, and other themes are apparent throughout this mix. Enjoy.

-Mix Master Monti

01 Atmosphere - Me
02 Kid Cudi - Man On The Moon (The Anthem)
03 Kanye West - Everything I Am
04 Fatlip - What's Up Fatlip?
05 Brother Ali - Forest Whitiker
06 Macklemore - I Said Hey
07 Common Market - Re-Fresh
08 Atmosphere - The Number One
09 Rhymefest - Build Me Up (Feat. O.D.B.)
10 Murs - Freak These Tales
11 Blu & Exile - In Remembrance Of Me
12 Kanye West - My Way Home (Feat. Common)
13 Murs - H-U-S-T-L-E
14 Atmosphere - Don't Forget
15 People Under The Stairs - Time To Rock Our Shit
16 Teenage Fanclub & De La Soul - Fallin'
17 Dyme Def - LetitBe
18 Brother Ali - Self Taught
19 Dyme Def - ForTheWorld


Related Posts with Thumbnails