My Mixtapes

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Mixtape: Yelawolf - Trunk Muzik

1. Trunk Muzik (3:40)
2. Stage Lights (Remix) (3:35)
3. Good to Go (feat. Bun B) (3:39)
4. Pop the Trunk (3:49)
5. Box Chevy Pt 3 (feat. Rittz) (4:23)
6. F.U. (3:15)
7. Lick the Cat (feat. Diamond) (3:36)
8. Speak Her Sex (feat. Nikkiya) (2:53)
9. I Wish (feat. Raekwon) (4:30)
10. In This Club (4:00)
11. Love Is Not Enough (3:46)
12. Mixin Up the Medicine (Remix) (feat. Juelz Santana) (4:06)

Yelawolf is an unlikely character in hip hop. A white guy from Alabama with a long black rat tail who is obsessed with Chevys and shotguns. But guess what? He has carved out a niche for himself that has gotten him enough buzz to get signed to Interscope. Now you might think to yourself that this is just a short-lived novelty thing, but after hearing this mixtape I know that this dude has a real future in the hip hop game. He has such a unique style, mixing trunk rattling bass heavy crunk music (hence the title Trunk Muzik) with a captivatingly intense and dexterous flow spitting about rural Alabama themes (just peep the video below to see what I mean). The only true way to appreciate this album is to put it on your car stereo and turn the bass all the way up. If it doesn't make your mirrors shake then your speakers suck and you should probably get that corrected immediately. Although there isn't too much depth in his lyrics, there is one true gem on here - track 11 (listen above) where Yela spits about heartbreak from a breakup with his girl. I was psyched to see that he could do a track like this and I await to hear more like it in the future. If you are skeptical about Yela's place in rap music then he has one thing to say to you, "I wish a muthafucka would tell me that I ain't hip hop. BITCH YOU AIN'T HIP HOP".

Yelawolf - Pop The Trunk (Track 4)


Related Posts with Thumbnails